Hard time getting a job? I Dare You to Ask for Help


Let’s say you apply for several jobs and never get called for an interview. What do you do next? Right, use the same resume to apply for more jobs and wait longer. Then what? Exactly, send out your resume a few more times. This time, change the font and add more bullet points. If you still don’t get an interview, the job market must be horrible and all the jobs must be going to friends of the hiring managers right? Probably, but it is your fault you aren’t attractive enough on paper to get an interview despite the bad job market or the hiring manager’s nephew’s need for a job.

If you want different results, try a different approach. Have you ever asked someone for help? No, a Google search does not count. Neither does a blog, wiki, or website dedicated to the perfect resume in just 10 minutes. Have you ever asked a real person for help? Is there someone who you trust that is currently employed? Have you asked for a copy of their resume or asked them to take a look at yours? I know it is a hard thing to do. In fact, I used to share my resume in the same way a little boy might burst through the front door at home and thrust his soccer trophy into his father’s hands. So, when I get feedback such as “this part is confusing” or “this section is wordy,” I feel like the little boy whose father says, “I’ve seen better trophies and you missed a couple of easy shots.”

If you think your resume is perfect, your cover letter is flawless, and your interviewing skills are deadly- you are wrong. If you are employed and wrong, no harm done. But if you are unemployed and wrong, we have a problem. The good news is that you can have a killer resume, an attractive cover letter, and a solid interview if you simply ask for help.

I dare you to find a professional friend, workshop, or class to help you develop the skills you need to land the job you want. You will be one of the few that ask for help and thus, one of the few to get a job offer.

2 thoughts on “Hard time getting a job? I Dare You to Ask for Help

  1. This is very sound advice! I recently had some advice given to me that says the exact same thing. A friend told me that you often fall in love with your own projects which means you often look past the flaws. Getting your third party advice will be critical in improving your resume. I have found that has helped me greatly!

    Thanks for this post!

    • Thanks for reading Colin! I think “falling in love with your own projects” is a great way to put it. I am definitely guilty of that mentality. I have to make an effort to show my work to people I trust and ask for feedback. When I do ask for and get feedback, my work turns out better than I ever could have made it on my own.

Leave a Reply

